top of page

The five seasons of guitar was designed as a 5 CD box set - it is Etienne's most complete work until now.


The first 4 CDs express the atmosphere of each season. The fifth season is centered around spiritual compositions named after the planets. These tracks are calming, relaxing.

The Five Seasons of Guitar includes Etienne’s entire work for the guitar : 58 compositions and 22 arrangements including both solos and duets. The pieces vary in length from miniatures to major works over 8 mins long. The styles range from classical to contemporary, from impressionist to new age, with influences from South American to Spanish and the folk music of the 70’s.

© 2016 Etienne de Lavaulx 

​The seasons can be described as follows:

SPRING: youthful, fresh, romantic.

SUMMER: Exuberant, life, light and shade.

AUTUMN: “The Mystic”.

WINTER: Emotions, introspection, reminiscence.

THE FIFTH SEASON: Journey into space and beyond.

Total Playing Time: 6hr.15mn

The five Seasons of Guitar: 4hr.49mn Bonus tracks: 1hr. 26mn

The box set also includes an illustrated booklet which gives an overview of Etienne's life and the circumstances in which he found himself writing for the classical guitar.

I - SPRING (56:00)

01 In the Country (EdL)

02 Green Butterfly (EdL)

03 Strings of Love/duet (EdL)

04 Prelude in C (J.S. Bach)

05 Plaisir d’Amour (J.P.Martini)

06 Across the Little Wood/duet (EdL)

07 Song for a Child (EdL)

08 The Lullaby of Spring (D.Leitch)

09 Donna Donna (trad.)

10 The King’s Cavaliers (EdL)

11 Pegao (J. Feliciano)

12 Greensleeves (trad.)

13 Ambrosia (EdL)

14 A Time for us (N. Rota) 

       Five Naïve Pictures (EdL)

15 Rock Pools

16 Kites

17 Ants in a Thunderstorm

18 Moon over the Sea

19 A Bird's Lullaby - Two Spring Songs

20 Exultet

21 Spring eternal

22 And Love will grow (EdL)

23 Lullaby for three (EdL)

II - SUMMER  (1:01:50)

01 Summer Skies (EdL)

02 Tumble Weed Bass Blues (EdL)

03 Ternura (N.M. Lima)

04 Maria Elena (Barcelata)

05 5 to 9 Boogie (EdL)

06 The Samba/duet (EdL)

07 Whiskey in the Jar (trad.)

08 Sourire/duet (EdL)

09 Living in the Country (P.Seeger)

10 Two Guitars (trad.)

11 Majorca/duet (EdL)

12 Staffa Island (EdL)

13 Shadows of Spain (EdL)

      Little Munjki Suite (EdL)

14 Prelude

15 Theme

16 Lullaby

17 Rubato Waltz

18 Mirage (EdL)

19 Ballad for a passing Cloud (EdL)

20 Love your Life (EdL)

III - AUTUMN (57:02)

01 Prelude and Song (EdL)

02 St Matthew Passion (J.S. Bach)

03 Go down Moses (trad.)

04 Lamp by the Roadside (EdL)

05 I don’t know how to love him (A.L W)

06 Isle of Islay (D. Leitch)

07 For a Rain to come (EdL)

08 The Walk (EdL)

09 Variations on Amazing Grace (J. N)

10 The Enchanter/duet (EdL)

11 The Rose Garden (EdL)

12 L’Oiseau de Passage (EdL)

13 The She-oak on the Hill (EdL)

14 Asphodels (EdL)

IV - WINTER (56:44)

01 Sweet is Thy Will (melody)/duet (EdL)

02 Cordillera/duet (EdL)

03 The Windmills of your Mind (M. L)

04 Jesu Joy of Man desiring (J.S. Bach)

05 Deep under the Sea (EdL)

06 Memory (A. Lloyd Webber)

07 Sweet is Thy Will (improvisation) 

08 “Oui, mais la Guerre” (EdL)

09 The Albatross (EdL)

10 The Consolation (EdL)

11 Salute to Andre Segovia (EdL)

12 The Guitar Lesson (EdL)

13 Silver (EdL)

14 Iceberg (EdL)

V - The fifth Season (57:23)

01 Asteroid - 7 - Allegro (EdL)

02 Le long Voyage (EdL)

03 Passage to the Stars/duet (EdL)

04 Jade (EdL)

05 Orion (EdL)

06 Saturn (EdL)

07 Venus (EdL)

08 Pluto (EdL)

09 Mars (EdL)

10 Asteroid 7 - Presto /duet (EdL)

11 La Valse endiablée (EdL)

12 Invention (EdL)

13 Golden (EdL)

14 L’Astre d’Or (EdL)

Each season ends with some bonus tracks (not shown above). This bonus material is a window overlooking my musical journey over the years. It is in its raw state with mistakes and all, but it reflects the enthusiasm I had in playing my guitar. Most of the bonus material is unedited and was recorded on a portable cassette recorder.

bottom of page